The scientific program at LHC which will be the biggest particle accelerator complex ever built in the World will be monitored by the powerful international collaborations comprising most of scientific centers in many countries. CMS collaboration is responsible for the design and the construction of one of the two major detectors for LHC Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS). At present there are 1243 members from 132 scientific centers from 28 countries over the World.

Several major scientific centers from Russia, Former Soviet Republics and other Dubna Member States participate in the CMS collaboration since the very beginning. Others entered the collaboration later when the CMS Letter of Intent was submitted and some groups joined CMS in 1994 after the SSC project in USA was terminated. At this moment 35 US Universities and National centers also joined CMS. On 15 December 1994 Technical proposal for CMS construction was submitted to the CERN LHC scientific committee. 283 scientists from 27 Russian and Dubna Member States Research Centers have signed the CMS Technical Proposal.

Russia and Dubna Member States CMS collaboration is going to concentrate the most of its efforts at design optimization building commissioning and operation of substantial part of the CMS detector in following areas:

  • Endcap Hadron calorimeters,
  • Forward muon station MF1,
  • Electromagnetic calorimeter based on PWO crystals,
  • Preshower,
  • Very Forward calorimeters,
  • MSGCs for Central tracker,
  • First Level Trigger and Data Acquisition.

Russia and Dubna Member States physicists have already been deeply involved in the CMS Research and Development program and physics simulation. The results of these R&D studies and simulation provided the substantial input for the CMS Technical Proposal.

Since the very beginning RDMS groups in CMS have appeared as a joint group well visible in CMS management structure. RDMS scientists are included in the CMS management and management of CMS systems. Formally RDMS CMS collaboration was established at the meeting of RDMS Institute representatives and CMS management board at Dubna on 2728 September 1994. At this meeting Chairman of RDMS Collaboration Board and RDMS CMS Spokesman were elected and subsystems technical coordinators were nominated.

This project is submitted by following institutions:

  • State Scientific Center, Institute of High Energy Physics, Protvino;
  • State Scientific Center, Institute of Theoretical and Experimental Physics, Moscow;
  • State Scientific Center, Institute of Nuclear Research, RAS, Moscow;
  • State Scientific Center, Budker Institute of Nuclear physics, SB RAS, Novosibirsk;
  • Moscow State University, Institute of Nuclear Physics, Moscow;
  • State Scientific Center, Petersburg Nuclear Physics Institute, RAS, St.Petersburg;
  • Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow;
  • Joint Institute for Nuclear Research international organization situated in Russian Federation, Dubna.

This project does not cover the activity of russian scientists involved in research groups from other countries for which these countries take responsibility.

R&D study performed for CMS by Russian institutions are being funding since several years by Russian State Scientific Programs "Fundamental Nuclear Physics" and "High Energy Physics" which were formed and approved for funding by their International Advisory Committees on the competition basis.

In this document Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, an international organization situated in Russian Federation, represent here all centers from Dubna Member States which have expressed their intent to participate in the CMS Project through Joint Institute for Nuclear Research.