There are 283 members from 27 Russian and Dubna Member State institutions collaborating in CMS. In addition there is a substantial number of engineers and technicians involved in this activity. A full list of institutions and number of scientists signed the CMS Technical Proposal are given below.


State Scientific Center, Institute of High Energy Physics, Protvino 37

State Scientific Center, Institute of Theoretical and Experimental Physics, Moscow 24

State Scientific Center, Institute of Nuclear Research, RAS, Moscow 22

State Scientific Center, Budker Institute of Nuclear physics, SB RAS, Novosibirsk 9

Moscow State University, Institute of Nuclear Physics, Moscow 15

State Scientific Center, Petersburg Nuclear Physics Institute, RAS, St.Petersburg 7

Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow 6

Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna 57


Yerevan Physical Institute, Yerevan 6


Byelorussian State University, Minsk 2

National Center of Particle and High Energy Physics, Minsk 17

Research Institute of Applied Physical Problems, Minsk 3

Research Institute of Nuclear Problems, Minsk 4


Institute of Nuclear Research and Nuclear Energy, Sofia 14

Sofia University, Sofia 8


Charles University, Prague 3

Czech Technical University, Prague 4

Institute of Computing Machines, Prague 2

Institute for Nuclear Research, Rez 1

Institute of Scientific Instruments CAS, Brno 4


Institute of High Energy Physics Tbilisi State University, Tbilisi 9

Institute of Physics Academy of Science, Tbilisi 5


Institute of Computing Machines, Zilina 2


Kharkov Institute of Monocrystals, Kharkov 3

Kharkov State University, Kharkov 3

National Scientific Center, Kharkov Institute of Physics & Technology, Kharkov 6


Institute of Nuclear Physics, Tashkent 10

Following the expression of interest of various groups from Russian and Dubna Member State institutions and the recommendation of the CMS management RDMS scientists will concentrate their major efforts at four well defined projects inside CMS:

1. The Endcap Hadron Calorimeters (HF) (full responsibility) and the Very Forward Calorimeters (VF). Both activities are parts of the full Hadron Calorimetry (HCAL) CMS management has appointed I.Golutvin (JINR) as Project Manager of HF subsystem. V.Kryshkin (IHEP) was appointed as a Technical coordinator. A.Volodko (JINR) was elected as a Chairperson of RDMS Institution Board which comprises one representative from each RDMS institution participating in HCAL.

2. The first forward muon station MF1 (full responsibility).

3. The PbWO4 electromagnetic calorimeter (ECAL) and preshower in the collaboration with other non RDMS institutions.

4. The tracker (part of the MSGC in collaboration with other non RDMS institutions).

In addition RDMS collaboration plays an active role in two common projects like software and Magnet participating in which is the responsibility of the whole CMS RDMS collaboration. Several groups are interesting in Heavy Ion physics. The sharing of responsibilities between institutions and countries is given in Table 11.1.

The members from Russia and Dubna Member States created an organizational structure providing the necessary strength to take responsibility for the construction of detectors for CMS and appear as a single scientific body. The upper level of the management of the RDMS CMS collaboration comprises two boards: the Collaboration Board and Executive Committee. At the lower level (subdetector projects) when many participating institutions are involved subdetector institution boards may be created.

The Collaboration Board is the governing body of RDMS CMS collaboration and is responsible for making all major (strategic) decisions within the collaboration.

  • The membership consists of institutions or countries representatives.
  • Institution or country representatives each have one vote.
  • The Collaboration Board has a Chairperson who is elected by the Collaboration Board Members.
  • The Collaboration Board is responsible for electing the Spokesperson of RDMS CMS Collaboration.
  • Spokesperson of RDMS CMS collaboration is ex-officio non voting member of the Collaboration Board.

The Executive Committee is responsible for directing the RDMS CMS project. The structure of the Executive Committee is given in ( Fig. 11.1), It is chaired by the Spokesperson of RDMS CMS Collaboration.

The membership consists of:

  • the Spokesperson of RDMS CMS Collaboration,
  • the Chairperson of the Collaboration Board,
  • the Subsystems technical coordinators, project managers and chairpersons of Institution Boards.